Lonely Planet


Covered up tea stall during Ramadan

Ramadan is over and things are returning to normal. Nice to see men congregating and drinking tea  out in the open, During the past two months I’ve met only ONE traveler on the streets of Dhaka. Sure, there are a number of expats in my neighborhood working with the embassies and numerous ngo’s but Bangladesh just isn’t on the backpacker or tourist map. It finally struck me… so maybe that’s why I’m Mr. Celebrity here. I can’t walk down the street without crowds gathering and people constantly asking:

  • Where are you from?
  • What is your name?
  • How long have you been here?
  • What is your job?
  • How do you feel about Bangladesh?
  • Where do you live?
  • What is your phone number/email address?

Often people will then insist that I visit their homes. How would that make you feel?

One thought on “Lonely Planet

  1. Alicia H

    Hi Geoffrey,
    I’ve definitely felt that way before. My friend and I spent 4 months in Bangladesh teaching English up in Dinajpur. Everyone stared – all the time. We had a lot of children and adults alike, following our rickshaw on their bicycles trying to ask us all kinds of questions. My favorite question is “are you married?”. And we once herd “hello my sexy dream girl”, which definitely took me by surprise.
    I miss it though, honestly. Talking with people was much harder then I had expected it to be for me. I didn’t mind the staring after a while.
    Why are you in Bangladesh? I can’t wait to go back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

